Blogger Focus | Amy Louise from A Life in Beauty Am

A Life in Beauty Am is run by 22 year old Amy Louise. She is a makeup artist, beauty blogger and self-professed know it all. She is a More Beauty Hot 100 Beauty Tester and loves to keep up to date with all the latest beaut trends (which has also lander her with a kit packed full of products). She agreed to take part in this little interview, to help nosy so and so’s like me get to know the person behind the blog!

What’s your name? How old are you?

Hi! My name is Amy Louise and I am 22 years of age (oldienow lol)

What is your blog centered around?

Beauty and the beauty aspects of blogging, which means I write reviews on Alifeinbeautyam about beauty products and I write articles on how beauty changes us, inspires and the meaning of beauty.

Why did you decided to get into blogging?

Honestly before 2010, I never knew blogs existed. The concept of blogs now is what I used to create on paper. I have about 30 scrapbooks with articles I have written, mood boards along with many other things and I always dreamed of having them published in a magazine. So when I was in the library one day I was researching print for magazines and came across Blogger. I set one up in the April…the rest is history.

What is your favourite part of blogging?

Sharing my experiences and products that I am genuinely excited about. I love sharing the products that I love and connecting with people who have the same interest as me.

And what is your least favourite part?

The least favourite thing about blogging is that it can be time consuming, especially when it comes to picture uploading. I don’t know if it’s the same if you use Word press etc. (let me know bloggers) but Blogger takes ages to load pictures so that can be frustrating. Also as blogging is a massive part of my life I find it hard to juggle taking care of my personal life while blogging for my career and interests.

Is there anything you would change about your blog if you could?

I would like to learn how to actually work it! Lol! I would like to have a template for additional pages for my blog but have no clue on how to do it! But I like my blog how it is to be honest. I am very classic and original in personality so I think my blog reflects that.

 

 

 

Do you tend to save for higher end brands and designs or buy a few more items from drugstore brands and high street stores?

When I first started off blogging I posted a lot of reviews on high street makeup brands but within the last three months I have introduced higher end makeup like Chanel and Dior and have noticed a difference in traffic for these kinds of posts. I love to have a mix on my blog as I take into consideration everyone’s lifestyles and am WELL aware (unfortunately) of the economic situation in the UK.

Who is your style crush? Who do you look to for fashion style and makeup ideas?

To be honest I don’t tend to have fashion crushes as I know what suits me and wear what I want but saying that I do admire time periods like the 40’s era for clothes and the cuts they had, so I am the type of dresser that has these basics and colours. Regarding makeup crushes it will always be Marilyn Monroe. She is my idol, I love her so much.

Do you tend to do your own thing with makeup and fashion or do you keep up with the trends in magazines and try to stick to them?

100% regarding clothes obviously I liked to look at the trends but I know what suits me and I am lucky enough to have a classic wardrobe that I can go back to season to season. With makeup trends I try and study every look as part of my blog and artistry so as say a blue eye shadow? I would try it and see how it looks but at the end of the day I know what suits me.

What is your holy grail makeup product?

I love lipsticks! I have so many I can’t count but my favourite at the moment is Dior Addict Lip Glow which is like a balm and lipstick all in one…but the exciting thing is once applied it reacts to the warmth of your lips and brings out your natural lip shade (mine is pink). I am like a manic! I have to have it with me at all times and near me when I go to bed (that how obsessed I am with it).

What wouldn’t you leave the house without?

I am not the type of woman to carry makeup around with me(very surprising I know-but I display it in my house lol) so I only leave the house with once again my Dior Addict Lip Glow.

Who is your favourite blogger? Why do you love them?

It has to be my fiancées blog he is so talented.  It’s unbelievable and the best thing is that he writes for fun but I can see it becoming big.

What are your favourite kind of posts to read?

I like a mix but mostly like to read themed blogs which just concentrates on one thing.

If money was no issue, what is the one designer item of clothing or accessory you would buy?

Without a doubt a Chanel 2.55 Vintage handbag! I am still saving for it.

If money was no issue, what makeup brand would you splurge on? What products would you get?

With makeup I am very fortunate to have the choice of buying a makeup brand I want, as I save up for them. I feel that if I spend ten pounds on a high street lipstick brand for an extra ten pounds I could get a Chanel lipstick instead. But if money was no issue I would buy a whole kit of MAC makeup brushes, the Bobbi Brown range and the Illamasqua range.

Thanks Amy Louise for taking part! For a nosey so and so like me, it’s great to find out some new information on the people behind the blogs!  Please go and check out her blog (here) and follow her on Twitter! (Maybe give me a follow while you’re at it!)

If you want to take part in an interview! Or you want to guest post on my blog please email: obsessedbeautyblogger@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

